Search View Archive

Geoffrey O’Brien

Geoffrey O’Brien’s books include Dream Time: Chapters from the Sixties (1988), The Phantom Empire (1993), The Browser's Ecstasy (2000), Sonata for Jukebox (2004), The Fall of the House of Walworth (2010), and Stolen Glimpses, Captive Shadows: Writing on Film 2002-2012 (2013). He has published eight collections of poetry, most recently The Blue Hill (2018). He lives in Brooklyn.

from Arabian Nights of 1934

Arabian Nights of 1934 is a journey through the counter-reality embodied in American movies of the early 1930s, leading up to the enforcement of the Production Code in July 1934. It distills a thousand and one nights of Depression-era movie-going—situations, images, cityscapes, jokes and retorts and frantic outbursts—into a streamlined parallel life, the stories bleeding into one another as they did in the minds of the viewers whom they helped sustain.


The Brooklyn Rail

JUNE 2023

All Issues